On 9 July, the European Commission published the list of the new 24 ‘European Universities’, strategic alliances with the aim of advancing the internationalisation of universities and allowing students more flexibility to study in Europe.

The University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) is part of the ENLIGHT project which brings together 9 universities: University of Ghent (Belgium), University of Bordeaux (France), Comenius University of Bratislava (Slovakia), National University of Ireland Galway (Ireland), University of Göttingen (Germany), University of Groningen (Netherlands), University of Tartu (Estonia), University of Uppsala (Sweden), and Universidad del País Vasco/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (Basque Country).

The University of Deusto participates in the UNIC project together with Erasmus University (Rotterdam), Koc University (Istanbul), Ruhr University Bochum, University College Cork, University of Liège, University of Oulu (Finland) and University of Zagreb.

Unibasq congratulates both institutions for this achievement and offers its support for this great challenge, which is the “European Universities” initiative of the European Commission.